Out with the old, in with the new!

Yesterday was a very successful day!  In the afternoon, Wom and I made the frigid trek down to Loyola for my 5-6ish month follow-up appointment with Dr. Anderson (my neurosurgeon) and to go over my MRI that I recently had performed.  It was my first time driving on a highway since surgery (probably not the best of days to practice highway driving considering the roads were icy and frozen, but hey, we made it).  That was an achievement in itself!

After having Dr. Anderson’s Doogie Howser perform his usual neurological exam, he sat down with my mom and me and asked how I was feeling.  My answer?  “Great—like 100%!”  The entire time he was talking, he had this smirk on his face, so I felt almost certain he had good news.  And boy did he!  He informed us that after looking at my most recent scan, he and Dr. Anderson believe Trudy has shrunk!  It’s not much, probably about a millimeter, but it’s somethin’!

Dr. Anderson came in after to go over the actual scan with us and measured it on the screen.  There in front of me was proof that in only a few months, Trudy has begun to shrivel up.  I am SO HAPPY!

Dr. Anderson even admitted that my surgery was probably one of the “best ones he’s done in a long time.”  Ain’t that the truth!  He also reiterated that I am doing amazingly considering how big Trudy was (and then he pulled up the original MRI- eek!)  She was one big ole rude tumor!

You’ll notice in the scans how much my brainstem has straightened out.  I can definitely tell too!  My dizziness and balance have greatly improved since my surgery in July.

trudy mri split of 3

At this point, Dr. Anderson feels confident he cut off the blood supply to Trudy, so she should continue to shrivel up.  I do not need radiation (hallelujah!) and I am on a “watch and wait” basis.  My next MRI and follow-up appointment will be in May where I hope to see more great results!  I’d say 2014 is off to a great start!

6 thoughts on “Out with the old, in with the new!

  1. Wowza! The difference between those MRIs is unbelievable! 2014 will be a great year for you, sis! I know it! ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

Leave a Reply

