Out and about

Yesterday was my first big outing, and Ryan took me to lunch.  We tried out this new sub sandwich place in Mount Prospect called Firehouse Subs.  It was really good, but boy, it was weird being out again.  As soon as I walked in, I felt like EVERYONE in there was staring at me, (and it was pretty crowded.)  In my head I was like, “Am I walking weird?”  “Can they see my scar?”  I’m sure it was just me being paranoid again, but it was still a super strange feeling.

2013-08-21 13.32.50

Everything seemed okay and normal until I went to order.  I could barely hear the girl at the register!  With their kitchen making noise, music on (it wasn’t even blaring), and people talking, it was really hard to hear anything.  I was about to “cup” my right ear, but I thought that was a little much.  I ended up just turning my head slightly to the left so my right ear was facing her and it was fine.

Once Ryan and I sat down, and I was across from him, I could hear him perfectly, but that’s certainly going to take some getting used to!  I was thinking to myself, just wait until I go to a much louder establishment!  I really won’t be able to hear anyone unless they are right next to me (and on my right side of course!)

2013-08-21 13.42.57

On a positive note, I was able to do all the walking by myself without having to hang onto to Ryan for balance/support.  That was a big milestone for me!  Now that I’m walking around and doing more physically, I find my body and muscles are starting to hurt, especially the two incisions on my tummy.  My mom said that is normal because my body is used to being pretty stationary, and she’s pretty much a doctor, so….

As long as these feelings are typical, I’m okay with it!

8 thoughts on “Out and about

  1. happy days are here again!!! Every day from now on will be just that much better as it has been for the past month but you will notice it more now that you are out and about. One of these days you will be driving and even dancing. About your hearing – when I have been to see you I don’t even realize that you can’t hear out of your left ear, It doesn’t seem to bother you in the least and you don’t turn your head at all. I think the noise factor is because for a month you haven’t heard any loud music or noise (except for the jackhammer) and once again you have to get used to it. If you even want to that is!!!!

  2. So great to see you out, Kel!! You are looking fab….let me know when you’re ready for an ice cream outing 🙂 So proud of you.

  3. Kelly,
    I thought about how frustrating that must be to not have the hearing in one ear and figured there had to be blogs out there about it. I am sure that you have probably read all that you can, but just in case you haven’t… I thought these two might help you a little.
    http://hearingcareblog.com/2011/07/27/hearing-with-only-one-ear-unilateral-hearing-loss/ AND
    http://hearingcareblog.com/2013/08/09/reflections-on-waking-up-with-hearing-loss/
    I am sure there are more out there, but I didn’t get that far. 🙂
    So glad you are beginning to live the “high life” again!
    Still praying for restored hearing for you.

Leave a Reply

