“No restrictions.”

WARNING:  Really long post, but a good update!

This afternoon I had my one-month post-surgery follow up with my ENT Dr. Leonetti and one of his residents.  It went amazingly well!  He was extremely happy with how I am progressing and healing thus far.  The best news?  He said I have “no restrictions.”  This means I can blow my nose again, drive again (maybe—I’ll explain later), sneeze again, carry things again, etc.  All these tasks seem so simple, yet I was unable to perform them while recovering because I couldn’t strain my body in any way and was on heavy medication.

However, just because he gave me “no restrictions” does not mean I’m going to join the circus.  I still do not feel 100%, so I am going to take things slowly.  Oh, I almost forgot the best part!  The doctor gave me the go-ahead to leave my house to do something [fun]!  My first outing will be this Wednesday with Ryan taking me to lunch!  To be honest, I am terrified to leave the house.  I feel like Sheila on Shameless (see—I watch some good TV), you know, Karen’s mom who is an agoraphobic?

sheila

I know everything will be just fine, but just imagine not going anywhere, literally anywhere (besides a hospital), for a month, and then being told, “Go ahead!  Go out!”  It’s scary!  I think it’s a step in the right direction now that I have “no restrictions,” easing my way in since I’m still a little weak and need to work on my balance.

Now for the other “less fun” news—Dr. Leonetti said my incisions are healing wonderfully.  He reminded me that a scar takes 5 days to heal, but a wound takes 6 months, so I must still be very careful with the wound in/on my head.  He also said the ringing in my ear “should” go away, “eventually.”  Whatever that means…

2013-08-15 17.06.39

Part of my skull was removed, but it is nothing to be worried about.  To put it simply, the doctors took the fat from my belly and put it in the hole in my skull.  This is covered with muscle and the fat should turn into scar tissue over time.  All of this fat is also causing my left ear to protrude obviously more than the other one.  He said that given time, this should also settle and become equal again.

As for my weak facial nerve?  That’s getting better too.  He was SO pleased with how much it has strengthened already!   They rank weak facial nerves on a scale of 1-6 and mine is a 1, meaning the best it can be.  It has a little bit further to strengthen, but it too, should go back to normal in time.

me

I was also referred to a neurologist who will assess whether or not I had a true seizure or just a vasovagal episode.  Read more on that here– http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/vasovagal-syncope/DS00806.  Hopefully it is the latter; otherwise, I may not be able to drive for 6 months if it was a true seizure.  This would make things pretty difficult for me still having to depend on others when I’m trying to work on my independence!

Last, TMI ALERT!  I thought I felt something in my left nostril and told my doctor it felt like a hard booger that I just couldn’t get at.  (We’ve really gotten to know each other well over the past month)!  After a disgusted look from him, I asked him to “take a look” up there since I am paranoid about everything now.  He said, “I hate noses, but fine.”  Everything was a-ok!  Even the resident Doogie Howser got a laugh out of that one!

5 thoughts on ““No restrictions.”

  1. Wow, that’s amazing how fast and well you’re healing! It was so good to see you yesterday and how good you look. That’s great the doc gave you no restrictions! But you’re smart and know your own body and what you feel you can do now. So, that skydiving will have to wait a bit! Love, Aunt MB

  2. Your scar looks great.. Look how your hair is filling in(remember when you were thinking of shaving your head completely)
    You’ve come a long way in just one month. Glad to hear hear you can escape your confinements of your house and explore a bit.
    Just remember take it slow and slowly build up your strength to do different things.
    Hopefullly we can get to spend some time with you.
    Love,
    Mr and Mrs B

  3. hahaha a doctor should not be saying that he doesn’t like certain body parts- hello, that’s his job! Haha about the agoraphobic character from your show. i’m glad you won’t be getting Cabin Fever.

    I was in Wicker park this weekend, and saw multiple girls who have your new haircut. at least it’s in style! have fun at your lunch outing Wednesday! one step at a time.

  4. Kelly,
    So glad we saw your dad so your mom could get your blog to us. I prayed the ENTIRE day of your surgery. I couldn’t stop thinking of you. We left for vacation almost right after, so I am glad to read your whole blog and get caught up. I am so glad that everything went as well as it could. You look amazing. From the front, you would never know that you had a Skrillex do going on under your long tresses. 🙂 Will be continuing to pray for you to recover well.
    A verse for you on those hard days (Isaiah 40:29-31):
    He gives strength to the weary
    and increases the power of the weak.
    Even youths grow tired and weary,
    and young men stumble and fall;
    but those who hope in the Lord
    will renew their strength.
    They will soar on wings like eagles;
    they will run and not grow weary,
    they will walk and not be faint.
    May God use this time to continue to bless you and allow you to bless others through your experience.

Leave a Reply

