Good news!

My CT scan report came back normal/fine.  Dr. Anderson’s nurse said my ventricles are “down” from pre-surgery, so there is no indication of hydrocephalus (fluid on the brain, which I had prior to surgery, hence the shunt implant.)

This is how the Acoustic Neuroma Association, ANA, explains the function of the ventricles.  “Functions of the cerebral hemisphere are affected only with large tumors (like Trudy), which may compress the brainstem, (which she did), that the normal flow of cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) is obstructed along its normal course from ventricles, through the brainstem, to the surface of the brain.  This causes enlargement of the ventricles, or hydrocephalus, which can be life threatening.”

While at Loyola Monday, we requested copies of my imaging tests.  They were given to us on a CD, and I am being brave enough to share some rather disturbing images of Trudy pushing on my brainstem as well as my large ventricles.  You can also see where she grew out of my internal auditory canal.  This explains many of my pre-surgical symptoms, such as dizziness, headaches, and tinnitus, or ringing in my ear.  It does not seem real that I lived a normal life with a tumor THAT BIG in my head!!

P.S. If you couldn’t figure it out, Trudy is the big white blob.  !$%*#@&^!!!!!!!!!!!!  HOW FREAKY IS THAT?

Trudy 1

Trudy 2

Trudy 3

6 thoughts on “Good news!

  1. Goo, those pictures are so freakin’ unbelievable! I only saw the first one yesterday and now I’m speechless again. So glad Dr A and his team were able to remove that b****!!!!!

    P.S. Nice eyeballs!

  2. I can’t believe how you functioned either. You had your complaints, but it shows how strong you are, and I am really proud of you!! What would be interesting to know is how long Trudy was your parasite. If ANs grow an average of 1.5 mm/year and she was removed at 4.9 cm…Katie, have an estimate? GIG, GIG!!

  3. Kelly, those images are fascinating and you have a real gift for taking the science and putting it into (entertaining) language everyone can understand. You are a great educator and this experience will only enrich your skills!

  4. These scans are so crazy Kel! Thank god for amazing doctors like yours!! Your strength throughout this whole journey has truly been amazing! You are such an inspiration to others! Love you!

Leave a Reply

