Other news

For today’s report, I have some good news and some bad news.  Most people like receiving the bad news first, so I’ll begin with that…

Within the past 3 days, right before bed and when I wake up in the morning, I have had some pretty bad head pain.  It’s on my entire left side (side of surgery).  The strange thing is it seems to go away once I’m up moving around or just sitting upright in a chair.  However, the pain is so bad in the middle of the night that it wakes me up and it really hurts to even shift in bed.  I would compare this new pain to how my head felt right after surgery, so it really concerns me.  I called Loyola today and spoke with Tricia, one of Dr. Anderson’s nurses.  They ordered a CT scan just to be on the safe side.  She said that since I don’t have any other symptoms, such as nausea or vomiting, she isn’t too worried about it, which is promising.  They just want to make sure the ventricles in my head are normal.  I am scheduled for another CT scan on Monday… piece of cake.  Fingers crossed everything is okay!

As for the good news, I have experienced something positive of being deaf in my left ear!  My neighbors are getting a patio put in (sorry to complain, Kristen & Tim, I know it’ll be beautiful when it’s done!  You better invite me over for cocktails :)).  It is quite noisy when the workers have their machines on.  I’ve learned to sleep on my right side so that ear is on my pillow (covered) and my left ear is facing out.  This really cuts out the noise, and I have been able to sleep quite nicely during my afternoon nap.

Also more good news—I finally feel like I can read again!  For the first two weeks after surgery, it was really hard to read anything other than magazines with short amounts of text.  You know, mostly about important things like the royal baby, where Kim Kardashian is hiding, or how Des, The Bachelorette, accepted a proposal from Chris after being totally in love with Brooks just days earlier!

I have received so many books from you guys and I can’t wait to read them.  I started with a novella, Shopgirl, by Steve Martin.  [Thanks, Karen & Craig!]  It’s one of those books I can’t seem to put down and now I’m almost done!  Since I feel totally unproductive because of the length of my recovery, I want to read as much as I can.  Mentally, it makes me feel a whole lot better about myself than just lying in bed watching TV all day, that’s for damn sure!

shopgirl

2 thoughts on “Other news

  1. We’ll watch the movie! Love you and everything with the CT Scan will be fine. It’s a good thing Dr A’s office isn’t too worried 🙂

  2. After skipping quite a few seasons, Margaret and I soooo enjoyed laughing at The Bachelorette. It was an hysterical adventure! We miss you, Kelly!

Leave a Reply

