Friday feelins’

Happy Friday!  It’s officially been a week and a half since my surgery and I’m feeling pretty good.  My biggest complaint right now is my head pain that seems to kick in around the 3 hour mark into my medication.  I’m due for pain meds every 4 hours and do I sure know when I’m getting close to that 4 hour mark!  Other than that, I’m not really in much pain.  I do find myself getting tired very easily, but this probably has something to do with all the medication I’m taking as well.  One other strange thing I’ve noticed is my laugh has changed.  It’s like this little “hehe” laugh now as compared to my usual boisterous cackle.  I’m thinking maybe I’m just scared to let out a big belly laugh because of all my incisions, but hopefully I don’t have this sissy laugh for life!  I also find it hard to control my laughing; I have these laughing attacks more and more often.  Then again, I guess this isn’t such a bad thing, eh?!

Today I tried to get up some more and walk around.  It seems to be getting easier every day, so I’m grateful for that.  I am still pretty dizzy when I first get up, but once I am walking a bit, the dizziness seems to subside.  Tonight I plan to go downstairs again for dinner.  We’re grilling out burgers.  Maybe I’ll even make it outside!  Big steps I’ve taken these past few days!  It’s the little things I tell ya.

Dr. Leonetti’s office called me today to tell me they have a patient with a “similar situation” as mine and they were wondering if they could give this person my number.  Of course I said yes!  Now I can’t stop thinking about it and am all anxious in awaiting this person’s phone call.  I hope I can help this person as all these other acoustic neuroma people have helped me!

Monday I have a follow-up appointment with Dr. Pula, my neuro-ophthalmologist.  I believe he is going to check my eyes and see where we’re at with that.  I have not been wearing my glasses or contacts at all because I don’t know what my prescription is now, so it’ll be nice to get that figured out.  I know I’m not seeing clearly, but now I’m paranoid to wear a prescription that is too strong, so I’d rather go contact/glasses-less for now.

I hope you guys have a fantastic weekend; it should be very nice out!  I also wanted to wish a very happy birthday to Mr. Baysinger and a happy graduation party to my cousin, Torie!  Sorry I can’t make it to your party 😦  Again, thank you everyone for all your gifts, support, kind words, and prayers!  I don’t know how I’ll ever repay you.

4 thoughts on “Friday feelins’

  1. Another incredible post, lil Goo! Love reading this one today! You will be such a resource to whomever this other acoustic neuroma patient may be. I know you can imagine how they are feeling at the moment. Happy Friday, lil sis! Love you!

  2. You continue to amaze and inspire with your tenacious spirit and sense of humor…through all of this…you are a warrior and a wonderful writer…maybe you’ve found a new career as a blogger!! XOXO

  3. Great post. i feel better just reading it….i love your humor and hearing about your progress. keep smiling and he-he. Sending love.

  4. Thanks for keeping us updated. Good to hear you’re slowly progressing. I love your strong laugh and predict it’ll return once your pain subsides and stitches heal.

Leave a Reply

