New feelings and sensations

Hi Everyone!  First of all, wow.  You guys certainly know how to make a girl feel loved!  To wake up on Wednesday to all your supportive messages and posts was unbelievable especially after a pretty horrific Tuesday, so thank you!  I pray all of you never have to go through a 14 hour surgery like that.  It was pretty much the worst day of my life.  Good news though– the doctors were able to remove 99% of the tumor!  My neurosurgeon, Dr. Anderson, said he is not too, too concerned with that last 1% of tumor.  We are going to keep an eye on it and do another MRI in about a month.  He said often times the last of the tumor has nothing to thrive on so it just kind of shrivels up and dies on its own.  I am hoping that happens.

As I sit here blogging after a 14 hour surgery and a few days into recovery, I have a lot of different feelings and sensations that will definitely take some getting used to.  First, the hearing in my left ear is completely gone.  I know many of you were wondering what would happen with that.  It’s very odd.  I touch my left ear and have feeling, but I cannot hear one little bit.  Everything I hear goes through my right ear now.  My ENT doctor, Dr. Leonetti, said this was expected with how large Trudy was.  She ended up being 4.9 cm as compared to 4.3 cm as we previously thought.  I did ask for a picture of Trudes, but I’m not sure if I’ll get one.  Loyola is a teaching hospital so I know they have video footage, but I would probably NEVER EVER want to see that, so….we’ll see.  However. I did dream of Trudy last night and she was a light pink color in a little plastic container.  We all know she was not that small!  Mind games….

One other change I am dealing with is my facial nerve on the left side is quite weak.  This was also expected.  Both doctors said I should regain the strength over the next few months.  For now, it is quite hard to give a full-teeth smile, so bear with me as I do one of my “no teeth” smiles like I used to when I was a kid.  Overall, my face feels very swollen and I think this is just going to take time (like everything else to get back to normal).

The last change I would like to mention is my scar and head.  Going into surgery I thought I would have a fairly small “C” shaped incision behind my left ear.  Boy was I wrong!  This incision is probably 5 times larger and because of that my doctors really had to give me a Skrillex haircut.  For those of you “old” people, Skrillex is a DJ with an interesting shaved haircut.  View the picture at your own risk.  It’s pretty disturbing.  I’m thinking I might just be Skrillex for Halloween this year!

skrillex

2013-07-27 11.09.13

17 thoughts on “New feelings and sensations

  1. Great post, Gooey! You are so strong and such an inspiration to all of us! Your positive attitude and strength are very admirable. Love you lots!!!

  2. Kelly: It’s Lori, Susans friend in CA. I just wanted to let you know that I have been thinking about you and wishing you the most speedy recovery and putting this nasty Trudy in the Dumpster!!!! You are truly a strong and amazing young lady….(You take after your mom)… I remember all of the Nugents in your Aunt Susan’s wedding… You were all so adorable!!! You were so caring for your sisters being the youngest…. Worrying about when they were coming home….You have such a big heart….Keep the faith….XXOO

  3. Kelly, you make me so proud. I am so proud to be your sister! As Kat said, you’re a true inspiration. Just keep taking things day by day. Some days will be easier and some will be harder but in the end, Trudes is gone and you will get better. Love you and we’ll see you later this afternoon.

  4. You amaze me, Kel!! You are so strong and you just keep getting better everyday. I am so glad you can move on now that Trudy is gone 🙂 Best of luck to you on you’re healing process. You are off to a great start! Love you lots! XO

  5. Kel, it will take patience but you have the spirit and attitude that will get you thru this. Keep in mind it will all be worth it to know that Trudy is in the garbage. A couple days ago you wouldn’t have been able to do the blog and today you can so…… each day will be better. The docs probably know who Skrillex is so decided to copy the trend. It’s different. Keep the faith!!! The Big Guy is looking after you.

  6. Kelly, you are an even more amazing woman than i have known these many years. You are constantly in my prayers. Chrissie let me know on Tuesday about your surgery. Sending love.

  7. You’re so strong Kel and truly are an inspiration to life! I’ve been thinking about you everyday ( I check the blog probably 10 times a day), and can’t wait to see you when you’re ready.. Btw…have you ever thought of becoming a professional blogger, because you’re darn good at it 😉
    Love you!

  8. God is great, God is good! (and so are Drs. Leonetti and Anderson and their teams and the nurses and staff at Loyola and Glenbrook Hospitals, and Kelly’s family and friends, and our friends, and our friends’ friends, etc., and our living angels (you know who you are), and our angels in Heaven (and you know who you are, too), and the birds and butterflies! La vie est belle!!!!

  9. So glad you are home Puge and you are on your way to recovery! Rest and take it one day at a time. Love you and thinking if you, xoxo.

  10. Kelly, I am so happy that the surgery went through successfully. Yeah, let that last 1 percent shrivel up and die! I’m sorry about your hearing loss, but at least you are not completely deaf. Your battle wounds are intense, and they show all you’ve been through. You’re a tough cookie. Now on the road to recovery… Haha about being Skrillex for Halloween.

  11. Kelly, I am so happy to hear that your surgery was a success. I just couldn’t stop thinking about you,especially on Tuesday. The fact that you are up to blogging is amazing. Please let me know if you need any books or dvd’s to entertain you while you recover. I can order and deliver whatever your heart desires. Just let me know. Be patient and give the side effects time. Your body has been through quite an ordeal.

  12. Kelly, love your blog and you’re whole outlook on Trudy! It’s been so nice to hear how you’ve been doing. I knew you were an upbeat and positive person, but man you’re strong!! Praying and thinking of you! Keep kickin butt- can’t belive how far you’ve come already 😀

  13. Yayy Goo! We are all so proud of you and so happy you’re at home resting comfortably. If there is anything you need please let me know!

  14. Kel,
    You are truly an amazing woman, the fight you have shown, and won, against Trudy is an inspiration to everyone who knows you, and possibly who doesn’t but can read your words… I am honored to be able to call you my “sis.” Here is to the road ahead of you, love you lots and keep your head up, the battle is more than half over ❤😋

Leave a Reply

